« Going Gaga over the Gospel? | Main | Palin to Be Portrayed by . . . Julianne Moore? »

March 4, 2011

Owl City Announces New Album Release

'All Things Bright and Beautiful' slated for May; Young calls it a 'dreamy' album

Owl City, an overnight sensation less than two years ago when his album, Ocean Eyes, went platinum in just eight months, will release a new full-length studio album, All Things Bright And Beautiful, on May 17 with Universal Republic.

Adam Young, the Minnesota man who is the one-man band Owl City, recently blogged, "I’m so very excited about this new album. Much time was spent imagining, daydreaming, exploring and discovering, and I believe the result is that much more dreamy. When all is said and done, I think I’m most excited to hang up the brushes, take a deep breath and whisper, Thank You. Thank you, dear God, for allowing me to do this. I am so undeserving, and thus, so very humbled.

It's not known if Young, a Christian, actually covers the Anglican hymn that the new album title shares. recently covered a couple of hymns ("In Christ Alone" and "How Deep the Father's Love for Us"), but it's unknown if they will be on the album.

Produced by Young and recorded at Sky Harbor Studios in Owatonna, MN, All Things Bright And Beautiful features twelve new songs and was mixed by Young along with Grammy Award-winning engineer and producer Jack Joseph Puig whose credits include Beck, Mary J. Blige, Green Day and John Mayer to name a few.

MARCH 7 UPDATE: We have since learned that the two hymns mentioned above are not covered on the new album. Meanwhile, Spin magazine has more info about some of the tracks that will appear on the album.